Staying Ready

We got this farm for several reasons. One of those, that I’ll speak to today, is preparedness. We’re not avid “preppers,” nor are we over-the-top “survivalists,” but we do think things are getting worse before they get better (tanking economy, civil unrest, new wars), and feel like it’s smarter to be prepared than caught flat-footed. What it took was a tiny shift in paradigm, embracing a larger worldview while simultaneously focusing on our own backyard. I don’t even think of it as as “survivalism” so much as homesteading.

This farmhouse is over 80 years old. It was last remodeled in the late 80’s or early 90’s. The outbuildings are in disrepair and in need of some serious love. It’s kind of the perfect spot in which to learn how to REALLY reuse/reduce/recycle. That and the fact that we’re on an extremely regimented budget makes this way of life essential, rather than merely interesting and practical. And it IS interesting! Go look at any article on sites such as:

I don’t know, maybe it’s just me (and others who were fans of the book series, Little House on the Prairie as kids). I love the idea of making my own soap and candles, of canning and preserving, of someday having a root cellar.  Hell, I wish I had a reason to want muslin, or actually like saltwater taffy (for a penny). I’ve gone in for gardening and truly appreciating the earth and what it can provide for so long that if I didn’t get this farm, and soon, things were fixin’ to get really stabby in our previous urban loft. But that isn’t all this farm is intended to provide for us. It is intended to provide a sense of safety and security. That’s why we chose a relatively remote location. It’s intended to be as self-sufficient as possible, which is why we chose a place with a good well. It is intended to house animals, which will provide us with milk, meat, or eggs, which is why we went for as much acreage as we could afford. It is intended to go off the “grid” enough so that we can sever ties with the electric company, by eventually having solar and wind powered batteries and a generator.

All that takes money, to be sure. So for now, we’ve laid in our gardens, which was pretty expensive, but necessary ($100 to have tilled; seeds, $90; organic fertilizer, $25; compost tumbler, $300; assorted tools, $100; greenhouse, $800) to be at least off needing fruit and vegetables from the grocery store by the end of summer.  Not 100%, but close enough so we can feel like we’ve made progress and have enough to donate to the food bank, and still enough left over to put up some stewed tomatoes (or something). We have two mature laying hens and a mixed run of six chicks (who have gotten big enough that I had to build them a new “condo” out of large moving boxes and duct tape yesterday). We have a dog who is getting so big that we’re going to have to buy her a large crate sooner rather than later. Her job is to be my farm buddy, and protect me from predators, animal or human.

Alternative F: Sometimes for cooking.

The partner (who is a working chef) has this insane dream of replacing our propane stove with a wood-burning stove. A wood-burning stove. I told him I refuse to light a pile of logs to fry a couple of eggs, and if he’s hell-bent on cooking on a wood stove, he can get one of those stoves with a cooking surface, and it’s going in the living room because its primary duty will be to heat the house. Dude’s nuts. We NEED a stove to stay warm next winter; I don’t NEED to light one in the summer to cook a pork chop.

Every day is hands-on learning, learning, learning. Way different than theorizing in my head and education from my books. I wrote on Facebook yesterday, “I just accidentally punched my ear really hard, freaking out when what felt like a Pterodactyl flew into my head. It was a butterfly. I think I’m going to have kind of a difficult first spring/summer out here in the country.” And it’s true: The next six to eight months are going to be a trial. Will I survive the bugs? Will I survive the heat? Will I strangle the first rabbit I find in my cabbage patch? Will a hornet sting me in the eye? Will I shoot my first diamondback with the .410? Who knows.

There are a few blog sites I follow that are pretty hardcore from a prepper standpoint, but I really enjoy the posts. Two of them have semi-annual writing competitions, this one at survivalblog.com and one at thesurvivalistblog.net, both of which I had considered entering. (If one of y’all wants to enter, the prizes are freaking COOL.) But I’m going to hold off until I actually know what I’m taking about. I want to write about organic gardening and sustainability, but until I’ve actually weathered a couple more seasons with regard to both of those topics, I’d feel like a poseur.

So I’ll just keep pushing through, learning something new every day, preparing for the worst and hoping for the best.

*************************************************

If you’ve not seen it before, we have a Soilent Greens fundraiser going on here, Organic Farm Business. As always, we hoping for either an “angel investor” or as little as a dollar, all towards the goal of self-sufficiency, making a little money, and helping to feed the Brazos Valley. (Our story is at the bottom of the page.)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Staying Ready

  1. Rob heats his whole house with a giant wood boiler system. Much of his life is spent scavenging for, loading, unloading, sawing, splitting and stacking fire wood. He refused to purchase wood, so he spends a whole lot of time finding it. It also involves waking up a 3am in February to feed the fire so it doesn’t go out in the night, or the pipes will freeze.
    I can’t imagine cooking with only wood. Maybe doing it in the winter only, and then having gas/electric backup for summer months. Fire in the kitchen in July, no thank you!

    • I don’t know…I can’t imagine spending that much time sourcing free wood. It seems like something I’d be willing to throw money at, or at least buy a little off-property forest patch as a wood source. I can’t wait for the smell of burning wood in here!

  2. Donna, you are so f’n awesome it defies description.

  3. thebeadden says:

    Great post! We’re fairly new to being self-suficient-ish. Trying to find a happy medium. We’re test our own DIY solar oven and food dryer this summer. Things get so busy though. That was supposed to happen last year!

  4. Cosmic Earth says:

    I am with you on the, not cooking on the wood stove. there has to be a middle ground between comfort/convenience and being earth friendly.

    Keep up the fun posts. :O)

  5. Hey, thanks for following my blog. Love yours so far. We’re in a similar position in that we moved from San Francisco to a fairly remote part of Napa with similar goals- sustainable and safe vegetables, eggs from happy chickens, composting, and a general desire to live in harmony with the earth. I have a friend who has a zero waste home in Marin, her blog is amazing. I’ve learned a ton from it: http://zerowastehome.blogspot.com/

    We’re working toward that but it’s a big lifestyle change. Loved your Monsatan post. Keep fighting the good fight!

  6. I love your writing, so I nominated you for the WordPress Versatile Blogger Award!
    http://greenboxgarden.wordpress.com/versatile-blogger-award/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

