Never Dull; Sometimes Gloomy

On a much happier subject, here’s a farm update. This weekend the chef had to work on Saturday, and good God, the torrential rains would have kept us from working outside anyway. The Brazos Valley here in Texas received between 4-6″ of rain in a 72-hour period, and yesterday alone added about another inch and a half. Then, it was suddenly gone. We have lakes and streams and impromptu creeks and bogs and swampy marsh all over the property.

But that didn’t stop the fiance from chainsawing down several dead pecans trees (when the sun finally burst through). These were fully mature pecans that had been producing great bushels of nuts before last year’s drought. It made us super-sad to lose them, but we’re honoring them by incorporating them into a big cactus garden we’re starting at the entrance to the property. We cut some of the larger, more interestingly-shaped limbs into what will be our bed borders, to be accented by large rocks, then cacti and yard art in the beds. Part of the yard art is going to be based on our old toilet, and that’s all I’m going to say about that until it’s done.

Besides that, we installed a new toilet this weekend!  Thank you, porcelain Gods.

Before: Potential ass chiggers and listeria

After: The Toilet Angel Choir sings

Since it was a foreshortened weekend, that’s about all we got done. A got new rubber galoshes and we figured out how to finally get our white clothes white. This stuff, Super Iron Out, is a miracle product. All of our whites were yellow and orange from the high iron content in our well water. Until we can afford a whole house filtration system. I thought we were stuck looking like hobos, despite having tried several other products and methods to get the freaking clothes white. I don’t know how I didn’t hear about this stuff before, since it’s been around since the ’50’s. But yay! White clothes!

The hens are cruising along, getting bigger and making a little more noise. They haven’t come out of the coop yet into their yard, nor have they laid any eggs. Is that weird?

More rain today, then four days clear, which hopefully will get the gardens dry enough to work in. I have SO MANY seeds and seedlings yet to get in the ground; it’s maddening to have to skip planting for this long. So today I’ll probably post one more time here, start some herb seedlings, vacuum the house (yay new belt!!), do the rest of the laundry, and finish the wedding invitations.

Oh, speaking of which, for the fellow blogger who asked about my wedding boots, here they are!!

The very best boots ever

Tagged , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Never Dull; Sometimes Gloomy

  1. Bana Elzein says:

    Definitely not weird about the chickens. They won’t lay until they feel completely at home. When they start coming out of the coop and feel completely safe in the coop then you’ll probably start seeing some eggs. They take a long time to acclimatise and suffer from extended effects of the stress of moving house. Have you tried encouraging them out of the coop with piles of food? put a pile outside the door.. let them poke their heads out and peck it and then the next day a little further out etc until they understand that they can go out when the door is open and the safety of the coop won’t disappear if they leave it. Also, when you get a few more chickens their confidence will increase dramatically. They are very flock-centered and enjoy the company of their peers. Two chickens on their own probably feel a bit like ducks out of water.

    • I will start trying to coax them out like that today, Bana. Thank you! They have to wait for a couple more weeks for more ladies, so hopefully yard adventures will take their mind off the lack of buddies. 🙂

  2. Lilybell says:

    Ugh I feel the same way about my sopping garden! Everything survived the beatdown though! I may plant some seeds this evening since it will still be too wet. It’s a deliciously bad thing having a Lowes so close to my office…

    And the neighbor’s nasty little puppy mutt came barelling through my flowers after we went inside because they don’t play with him…grrrr! There were muddy pawprints everywhere this morning and I spent the moring pissed off 😦 My bf will be talking to them (polite step 1) next time it happens.

    Step two is a nice letter and step three is calling animal control! :-). The neighborhood is not the dog’s playpen, especially when these are 2-3 acre lots…

    Anyway back to flowers. I am going totry my hand at some hanging flower baskets and also whip up some herb urns for the back porch. Most of that is dry-weather fun! 🙂

    • Ugh, puppies. Ours is not allowed off-leash near the kitchen garden, and not allowed at all into the big garden. Puppies are just too stupid sometimes! But adorable the other times…

      I need to do some pots and hanging stuff, too! That would keep my mind off my other gardens for now. (Thank God we’re not closer to Lowe’s. That is such a dangerous spot! ;))

  3. OH MY GOD I Love your wedding boots. I am so jealous. This makes me want to go cowboy boot shopping, and I hate shopping. I was forced by a girlfriend to go to the mall 2 years ago, and I haven’t been to a clothing store since 🙂

    I can’t wait to see the rest of the outfit.

    My boyfriends chickens don’t like to come outside in torrential rains either. He forces them outside by putting all of their food and water out in the chicken yard (under a big board so it stays dry) and they reluctantly come outside and start pecking.

    • I’m glad you like them! I heart them so much that we based the wedding colors on them: turquoise, red, yellow, cream. I don’t shop either! I got them online…Well, my best friend got them for me online.

      I’m going to try that suggestion about the chickens. I put a handful of food by the door today to try to coax them out, and I’m hoping I can get them out a little more each day. First of the month they’ll have more companions, so maybe that’ll help, too. Thanks!

  4. I’m glad you like them! I heart them so much that we based the wedding colors on them: turquoise, red, yellow, cream. I don’t shop either! I got them online…Well, my best friend got them for me online.

    I’m going to try that suggestion about the chickens. I put a handful of food by the door today to try to coax them out, and I’m hoping I can get them out a little more each day. First of the month they’ll have more companions, so maybe that’ll help, too. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

