EEeeee(p)!!

Lovelace, FTW!

Remember the awful things I said about my chickens in this post? Well, I take some of it back, because look what I found today in our overgrown chicken yard!

Thanks, sister!

Now if dummy-head would just discover the awesome nesting boxes that are in the much cooler, safer chicken coop, this would be much easier. Does a single hen roost in more than one spot? I have ten eggs here; have to test them to see if the eight I took are any good. Then perhaps wander around the yard tomorrow and see if there are any more surprises…

So excited! Ten eggs! That means she a) can lay in the heat and b) wasn’t just being obstinate! Heh…

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “EEeeee(p)!!

  1. Our hens lay anywhere they damn well please when they are let out of the coop! So yes, I think a single hen will do what she will. Just a tip: float those eggs before eating them- if they they float, no good, and too long in the sun. If they sink, they are good to go. 🙂 And I’ll work on more photos. 😀

    • Thanks! I did the water test earlier this afternoon, and all 10 were good to go! In fact, I went back out with one to put in one of the nesting boxes (to teach the hen where to be), and she’d laid another one! We just had some for dinner. I decided to hard boil them and not adulterate othe first taste of our very own organic chicken eggs. It might be one of the most glorious things I’ve tasted…

  2. Thanks! I did the water test earlier this afternoon, and all 10 were good to go! In fact, I went back out with one to put in one of the nesting boxes (to teach the hen where to be), and she’d laid another one! We just had some for dinner. I decided to hard boil them and not adulterate othe first taste of our very own organic chicken eggs. It might be one of the most glorious things I’ve tasted…

Leave a Reply

